Tuesday, September 2, 2014

The Blue Mooners - The Blue Mooners - 2014

A recent review: 
sounds like something you would hear in a dirty unfinished basement in wisconsin surrounded by empty beer cans and shame.
Well said...

Monday, September 1, 2014

Kevin Morby - Parade - Single 2014

Kevin Morby plays in both Woods and the Babies, or at least he did up until recently. But he’s lately taken to releasing beautifully chill singer-songwriter music on his own, and now he’s moved to Los Angeles to focus on that full-time. This fall, he’ll follow up last year’s solo debut Harlem River with a new one called Still Life. Its first single is a lovely soft-focus lope called “Parade,” and it comes laced with some wonderfully laid-back saxophone and ba-ba-ba backing vocals. Check it out below.

WORKING - more weight - 2014

"The three songs shy away from Mr. Kolodij's deeply haunting guitar pieces for a more C86-happy, Black Tambourine-obsessed take on noise pop perfectly suited for anyone looking for Teenbeat-soundtracked frills" 
- Decoder Magazine

DenMother - EICV7" No. 77 - 2014

At times spooky, others chill with a spice of upbeatness; always hypnotic and rhythmic in both music and vocals. 
Perfect balance on the eve of another school year.

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Lowpines - UnFuckTheWorld (written by Angel Olsen) - 2014

"Lowpines achieves a rare level of lyrical honesty, delivering home truths in an unadorned, direct & emotional manner" Clash

Call off the Hunt music video


Thursday, August 28, 2014

Should – Down A Notch - 2014

Baltimore's Should presents the digital single Down a Notch in advance of their impending fourth album, The Great Pretend. 

The single leads off with album track "Down a Notch" — at once the most effortless pop song in Should's catalog, but also elegantly crafted with guitars anticipating, doubling, and darting between the vocal melodies. 

The two non-album B-sides find Should testing new waters. "On Your Sleeve's" stripped-back verses underscore vocalist/songwriter Marc Ostermeier’s fragile pseudo-croon in anticipation of the more familiar lush dream pop atmospherics that swell at the choruses. The instrumental closer "Animate" locks into a heavy, hypnotic krautrock groove and never relents. 

crowdsource - Bit Rot Blues EP - 2014

'Bit Rot Blues' is the debut EP from crowdsource, a new solo alias of North Carolina-based author and electronic musician Phil Torres. Previously releasing three albums of intricately detailed folk/electronic/pop under the guise Baobab, crowdsource strays from these prior musings in favor of a brilliantly nuanced-yet-giddy turn towards the dancefloor. Layers upon layers of propulsive house-leaning rhythms, expansive instrumentation, and vocal samples both obscure and unexpected are thrown into the mix, yielding an exuberant and kinetic sound that’s deceptively complex – to be expected from the author behind the philosophical work 'A Crisis Of Faith: Atheism, Emerging Technologies and the Future of Humanity.' With its wide-eyed, anything-goes, sample-happy mentality, 'Bit Rot Blues' provides a refreshingly celebratory take on intelligent dance music.

Playlist: Covers Project Vol. XI - 2014

WooHoo Cover Mix from un-herd music

1. Daniel Ash Rock on (David Essex)
2. Joan Jatt Star Star (Rolling Stones)
3. Uncle Tupalo I Wanna Destroy You (Soft Boys)
4. Aimee Mann Baby Blue (Badfinger)
5. The Jags Here Comes My Baby (Cat Stevens)
6. Reno Bo I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better (Byrds)
7. Frankenstein 3000 Tenement Funster (Queen)
8. The Flashcubes Do Anything You Wanna Do (Eddie & the Hot Rods)
9. The Hold Steady Hard Luck Woman (Kiss)
10. Del Amitri Cindy Incidentally (Faces)
11. Me First & the Gimme Gimmes Believe (Cher)
12. The Sirens Glycerine Queen (Suzi Quatro)
13. Supersockers Never Let Me Down Again (Depeche Mode)
14. Hoodoo Gurus I Heard Her Call My Name (Velvet Underground)
15. Locksley It's No Use (Gene Clark)
16. The Redbeards Gudbuy T'Jane (Slade)
17. Tommy Keane Have You Seen My Baby (Flamin' Groovies)
18. Rachel Gordon Goodbye to You (Scandal)
19. The Cry! Louie Louie (The Kingsmen)
20. The Strypes Heart of the City (Nick Lowe)
21. Los Straitjackets w/ Raul Malo Black is Black (Los Bravos)
22. Jim Keays Tell Me When It's Over (Dream Syndicate)
23. Mathew Sweet & Susana Hoffs All The Young Dudes (Mott the Hoople)
24. M.O.T.O. Dancing in the Moonlight (King Harvest)

An Introduction To Twin Forks - 2014

“Whatever makes the audience stomp their feet and sing at the top of their lungs, that’s what I want to be doing,” says singer/guitarist Chris Carrabba of TWIN FORKS. Pulling together friends from other bands, and old friend Jonathan Clark on bass, Carrabba harnesses the acoustic spirit of his work with Dashboard Confessional and channels it through the rootsy classic folk of his childhood. These songs are anthemic enough for massive singsongs and personal and intimate enough for listening on an iPod. Twin Forks' self-titled debut album is available now worldwide. This 4-song sampler includes the lead single "Back To You," fan-favourite "Kiss Me Darling," never-released b-side "Good and Slow," and a sickly sweet cover of Taylor Swift's massive hit "Mean."